Gore Man Charged with Child Rape, Lewd Molestation of Two Girls17-Jun-2014
A 32-year-old man has been charged in Sequoyah County with 17 counts of sexual assault, including 6 counts of lewd molestation and 11 counts of first degree rape of a child younger than 14.
Police say they began investigating Troy Sands in March, when a woman reported to them that he had raped and molested her daughter over the course of two years, beginning when the girl was only 6 years old.
The girl allegedly told investigators that the man had raped her the first time at her home in Muldrow, and that he told her he would do it again if she ever told anyone. Despite her keeping his "secret," she says, he raped her several more times over the next two years. Allegedly, the girl told police that she also saw Sands rape her older sister, who was 7 at the time.
The older girl also told police that she had been raped and molested by the man at his home in Gore, telling them that he forced her to watch pornography while performing sex acts on him. The girl also told police that the man had raped and sodomized her using sex toys and other objects.
According to court documents, all incidents involving the two girls took place between 2008 and 2010.
Sands is held without bond in the Sequoyah County jail.
First degree rape is one of the most serious offenses with which a person can be charged. By statute, rape carries the death penalty in Oklahoma; however, the United States Supreme Court has ruled that the death penalty for non-homicide cases is unconstitutional. Still, the existing statute shows just how seriously the state takes first degree rape charges, and in particular, child rape charges.
For each count of rape, the defendant faces a minimum of five years in prison and a maximum of life behind bars. Each count of lewd acts with a minor, if the victim is under the age of 12, carries a minimum sentence of 25 years in prison. If the defendant were found guilty on all counts and given the minimum sentence for each (which seems unlikely given the severity of the offenses), he would be sentenced to 205 years in prison. Both lewd molestation and first degree rape are considered violent crimes subject to Oklahoma's "Eighty-Five Percent Rule." This means that anyone convicted of one of the 21 crimes specified in 21 O.S. 13.1 must serve, at minimum, 85 percent of the sentence before parole is even a possibility.
After longtime Oklahoma County Sheriff John Whetsel stepped down, ..
Senate Passes 8 Criminal Justice Reform Bills
In November, Oklahoma voters showed that criminal justice reform w..
An Oklahoma man accused of throwing a knife at his girlfriend and ..
There is no question that DUI is a dangerous problem. Each year in..
Oklahoma Legislators Propose Abortion Bans
It's springtime in Oklahoma. You know what that means: the redbuds..
On May 14, 1997, a Midwest City second-grader went missing from he..
School Sex Abuse Scandal Rocks Oklahoma Town
At least three people have been arrested in connection with sex ab..
Oklahoma has permissive civil asset forfeiture policies, which all..
The theater program director of an Oklahoma City church is under c..
Oklahoma's jails and prisons are overpopulated and understaffed. P..